I decided on Cancun for a few reasons. My honey is not a big traveler. He can do without the planes and trains. He loves being at home. This trip would be his first to a beach. Shocking I know. I don't know how he has managed all of these years. Poor sap. The pros of Cancun - reasonably priced, has areas with lots of activity, and the plane ride isn't very long. My only requirement was adults only and all-inclusive. For me that was a first as well. Being the budget diva I am, I always traveling on a budget therefore all-inclusive was not an option previously. Since my honey is paying for this trip....why not go for it (within reason of course, I'm no fool). The honeymoon board on theknot.com raves about Excellence Playa Mujeres. I found a travel agent and booked the trip. We decided to leave the Monday morning after the wedding. The best decision ever. I can't imagine having to get up that Sunday to leave...URGH! I didn't pack our bags until Sunday evening, don't judge me! I thought this was going to be the longest 5 days of my life. He was surprisingly well behave and open to new things.
Customs was hectic at the airport in Mexico. There were so many people. The only thing I would change so far (we haven't event made it to the hotel), next we will get a private car. Granted we were the only people on the van to the hotel but the waiting thing was annoying. I'm sure we only waited 15mins but whatev. I'm impatient and have a non traveler with me, I need to get me to the action and quick!!! Since the hotel was secluded the drive to the hotel was a little interesting. Lets just say we were able to see the non tourist part of Cancun. If you have First 48, think Pork n Beans or Little Haiti. Same thing, LOL! Stray dogs, meat hanging on sticks, it was cultural....I can dig it. What I didn't understand was the random people standing by the road. We couldn't determine if they were waiting for the bus or chilling. There was no bus stop sign....When we pulled up to the hotel, we went through 3 gates and the driver had to give our names at 1 of the gates. Can you say Fort Knox? I don't know if I should be worried at this point or feel important. We get out the van and are greeted by our first and last name. Such a nice touch. We were offered hot towels to wipe our hands...you know they had that Oink, Oink (swine) in Mexico. At the front desk we were greeted by name and offered a glass of champagne. My honey is excited! Liquor and we haven't been here 3 mins. The property was gorgeous! Pics of the lobby

No comments:
Post a Comment